Re: Timezone management for our community


Martin Bührlen
 

Dear all,

I support the idea, I also had a time zone confusion once.

there is another service, which I have used, which allows the selection of even more time zones than TimeBuddy (other than that it is very similar):
https://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/meeting.html

One additional option is to have the time zone correctly specified in the iCal attachment, which allows us to add it to our calendars in an automatic way.

kind regards

Martin

---
Martin Bührlen
Am 09.03.2022 um 05:11 schrieb Shane Coughlan:

It’s a great idea (and I use this service all the time on my phone), but some people wanted timezone information inside emails. So we used the current format… 🤷

In Europe we often *only* provide UTC and a link to something like Timebuddy. However, we tried and had questions from people about what that meant in their timezone. 🤦‍♂️

I see three possible solutions right now:

1) we do not change anything

2) we only provide UTC and a link to Timebuddy

3) we name the country of the timezone

The last one would seem to solve all problems but it would make email subjects incredibly long. Example: 
OpenChain Regular Webinar: GPLv3 - 06:00 United States Pacific, 14:00 UTC, 15:00 Belgium, 19:30 Mumbai, 22:00 China, 23:00 Korea and Japan

Regards

Shane

Shane Coughlan
OpenChain General Manager
+818040358083
Book a meeting:
https://meetings.hubspot.com/scoughlan

On Mar 9, 2022, at 12:55, Norio Kobota <norio.kobota@...> wrote:

Hi Shane,

How about using the following service together?
https://www.worldtimebuddy.com/

Best,
-- kobota

-----Original Message-----
From: main@... <main@...>
On Behalf Of Shane Coughlan
Sent: Wednesday, March 9, 2022 12:48 PM
To: OpenChain Main <main@...>
Subject: [openchain] Timezone management for our community

Dear all

We have a community spanning three continents and a constant stream of
meetings.

To manage this we usually publish meeting times in Pacific Standard Time
(PST), Universal Time Coordinated (UTC), Central European Time (CET), India
Standard Time (IST), China Standard Time (CST), Korea Standard Time (KST)
and Japan Standard Time (JST).

However, an area of potential confusion has been flagged. The United States
has a seasonal timezone called Central Summer Time, and they frequently
use the abbreviation (CST), a direct overlap with China Standard Time.

How would you like to see us resolve this to reduce the potential for
confusion?

Regards

Shane

Shane Coughlan
OpenChain General Manager
+818040358083
Book a meeting:
https://urldefense.com/v3/__https://meetings.hubspot.com/scoughlan__;!
!JmoZiZGBv3RvKRSx!pe_a4Ojni5VrqcD2wb7jW6N4xnwy6NOiOHYwGiZYUleA
-i_AfQ8LVXN3HXnSZ_Iv$ [meetings[.]hubspot[.]com]













Join main@lists.openchainproject.org to automatically receive all group messages.