Netfilter Core Team Settlement Lawsuit with McHardy - Webinar Monday 7th February @ 06:00 PST / 14:00 UTC / 14:00 BST / 15:00 CET / 19:30 IST / 22:00 CST / 23:00 KST + JST


 

The OpenChain Bi-Weekly Webinar is quite special this time around. We have Dr. Till Jaeger of the law firm JBB joining us to talk through the recent settlement between the Netfilter Project and Patrick McHardy, a notorious "copyright troll.” If you work includes any aspect of legal activity around open source this is a must-see.

Join us:
https://zoom.us/j/4377592799

Timezone:
Monday 7th February @ 06:00 PST / 14:00 UTC / 14:00 BST / 15:00 CET / 19:30 IST / 22:00 CST / 23:00 KST + JST

== What is this about? ==

Patrick McHardy, a previous contributor to the Netfilter Project, is estimated to have received settlements from more than 80 companies leveraging cease and desist letter. He is the first “copyright troll” to have emerged in the Linux ecosystem. The Netfilter Project have addressed his actions in a court of law by preventing this individual sending cease and desist letters without a majority vote of active core team members. These terms also apply to previous cease and desist letters.

== What did the project say? ==

Pablo Neira Ayuso <pablo@...>:
"The netfilter project announces a settlement with Patrick McHardy. This settlement is legally binding and it governs any legal enforcement
activities concerning all programs and program libraries published by the netfilter/iptables project on its website [1] as well as the Linux kernel [2]. Please, see the court order [3] (in German) and/or the translation of the court order for further details [4].”
https://lore.kernel.org/netdev/Ye6jCQm7z0Yr3bqA@salvia/

[1] https://www.netfilter.org
[2] https://www.kernel.org
[3] https://www.netfilter.org/files/2022-01-24-Beschluss_und_Vergleich.pdf
[4] https://www.netfilter.org/files/2022-01-24-Translation_Court_Order_and_Settlement.pdf